voluntarily monochrome

Why Lady Gaga used to be Gothic Eye Candy – part 1

You have to admit: Lady Gaga reached a point around 2009-2010 where she was pure gothic eye candy. Heavy lined eyes and make-up, weird platinum blond wigs, killer elaborate wardrobe full of Alexander McQueen? Yes, please.

I used to suck it up with the nonsensical lyrics just to watch those long, aesthetically pleasing and very Tarantino-ish videos of hers, where she always ended up killing someone. And I have to admit that after a certain amount of replays, I was singing “eh eh eh, stop telephonin’ me!” like any Little Monster.

But nowadays, there’s nothing gothicly gratifying enough in her videos that would make the music tolerable. Those bone prosthesis and the pure WTFery in Born this Way really ruined it for me, and Judas couldn’t fix it either.

So, for the sake of nostalgia, I’ll review Lady Gaga’s videos from the gothic perspective after the jump.

Paparazzi (2009)

Directed by Jonas Åkerlund, same guy that directed Madonna’s Ray of Light and Britney Spears’ Hold it Against Me.

Paparazzi has to be my favorite Gaga production so far. I even like the song!

Heavy made-up eyes loaded with dark eyeshadow, matched with nude lips and platinum blonde hair. Lovely. Along the video we can see multiple costumes made of black patent leather. And lots of glamorous dead beauties, too.

Honorable mention for Gaga’s last outfit, the Mickey Mouse inspired one. How can you not love the black lipstick and the sunglasses? She’s wearing an underbust corset too. And black nailpolish. What could be more goth? (Probably if the catsuit was black and not bright yellow but, ah, details).

Bad Romance (2009)

Directed by Francis Lawrence (Constantine, I Am Legend, Water for Elephants)

Probably a whole new definition of the acronym double u-tee-eff, Bad Romance was the perfect combination between appealing visuals and repelling song. Yes, the rhythm is kind of catchy and Gaga’s vocals in this one are impressive – it’s amazing how versatile her voice can be.

But the lyrics. THE LYRICS.

I remember this Haute Macabre post where they stated that the experience of watching this video would be improved by listening to Skinny Puppy’s Wrong Rip Fixin instead of Bad Romance with it. But after 5 replays or so, the song just grows into you.

Most, if not all of Gaga’s costumes in this video are by Alexander McQueen. Additionally, Gaga ends up killing another guy. All very nice so far.

The second part of this post will review the videos for Telephone and Alejandro.
First image from celebitchy.com
One response

  1. I wholeheartedly agree. I was all for Gaga, I even loved the music (admittedly I have always had terrible taste in music). Born This Way, Judas and this whole era have completely ruined it for me. I couldn’t even enjoy her walking for Mugler. I miss old Gaga, which is kind of a ridiculous thing to say. 😉

    May 18, 2011 at 06:12

Leave a Reply

