voluntarily monochrome

Daily Outfit – April 22 + San Francisco and over the knee socks

san francisco-15.jpg

This is what I wore for an awesome day in San Francisco. I could have done without the bone-freezing wind and fog, but then again, I guess that’s part of its magic.

Yeah, I’ll just keep telling myself that.

Pictures from our trip and outfit break down after the jump.

san francisco-9.jpg

Outfit break down:

Knitted black dress – Sequins Heart
Faux leather jacket – Guess
Tights and earrings – Hot Topic
Over the knee socks – Monarch? Or some other chilean store
Ankle boots – Bakers

Weird and unpredictable weather has taught me one thing: Over the knee socks are actually much more than just a pretty face. Er, garment.

Some reasons why they rock my socks (pun intended):

  • They are easy to carry in a purse and don’t take much space
  • They are easy to throw on on-the-way, without having to take anything off to put them on. I have experimentally proven this while on moving buses. For science. And warmth.
  • They make such a big difference when it comes to keep your legs warm. You’d think that they wouldn’t, since they don’t cover much, but trust me, oh do they.
  • There’s something on their shape that makes them really flattering. I’d say they probably make your legs look longer, though I’d have to take before and after pictures to really prove it. Again: for science.
  • Plain over the knee socks can balance or mute an outfit, while patterned ones can make it more interesting or add a pop of color.
  • They make it possible to wear short skirts in cold days.
  • They are cute as hell.

san francisco-3.jpg

san francisco-5.jpg

san francisco-6.jpg

We arrived at Ghirardelli Square after walking from Pier 39. Surprisingly, not as tiring as I thought it would be.

san francisco-8.jpg

View of the bridge from Fort Mason. This gave us hope! We thought we would never arrive before sunset.

san francisco-11.jpg

Hello, Golden Gate. We finally meet.

san francisco-14.jpg

san francisco-12.jpg

san francisco-13.jpg

san francisco-16.jpg


san francisco-1.jpg

Special thanks to Camila for being an awesome partner in tourism, for putting up with being my outfit photographer, and for forcing me to keep trying to get to the Golden Gate 😀

3 responses

  1. This outfit is really cute! I love over the knee socks. (A for science explanation: they keep you warmer than they look because the spot behind your knees is one of those that can quickly cool or warm you in an emergency. If you’re falling over from the heat in summer hold a cool water bottle to the back of your neck, inner elbows and backs of your knees. It should cool you down.)

    I love the skirt detailing on this dress. It looks like an old opera house curtain which I love! SF is almost always cold/windy/foggy I made the mistake of showing up there in May one year in a pair of shorts, sneakers and a tank top. I thought I would die. 😉

    April 29, 2011 at 01:06

    • That’s an interesting explanation! Just makes over the knee socks all the more awesome 😀 and yeah, the bottom part of the dress kind of looks that those curtains, hmm. Hadn’t thought about that. I just love the flow of the knit fabric, really soft to the touch and perfect for the smocking, bustling – well, that effect, whatever is its name.

      And oh dear, SF in shorts D:

      May 10, 2011 at 15:09

  2. I love your acctitud in the second photo! pretty face! your eyes so cute..the boots are great 😀 i love it and the socks so rocked! You look great 🙂 I like much your blog.
    lopaldi.wordpress.com

    August 23, 2012 at 20:44

Leave a Reply

